Teams converge on Melbourne for International Cup

Thursday, August 07, 2014

The countdown is almost over for the 25 teams who will compete in the 2014 International Cup.

The teams, which represent 18 different countries, have been arriving in Melbourne this week from all over the globe with the competition to kick off on Sunday.

In all, 62 games will be played over 13 days as the as all the colour and excitement of the International Cup brightens up Melbourne’s winter like never before.

Men’s teams: Canada, China, Fiji, Finland, France, Indonesia, Ireland, Great Britain, India, Japan, Nauru, New Zealand, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, South Africa, Sweden, Tonga, USA

Women’s teams: Canada – Northern Lights, Canada – Midnight Suns, Ireland, Fiji, Tonga, USA – Freedom, USA – Liberty.

Excitement has been building for months, but with several teams landing in the Victorian capital this week, a new sense of anticipation has settled in.

Many countries will venture to community clubs to finalise their preparations in the coming days, while New Zealand will play Victorian Amateur Football Association club Ormond Amateur FC on Wednesday night at Elsternwick Park.

When the International Cup does begin on Sunday, attention will turn to Royal Park in Parkville which will host the majority of matches.

For the first time a community round will be also be played as curtain-raisers to suburban, amateur and country matches on the middle Saturday of the tournament on August 16.

After four gruelling rounds, two grand finalists in both the men’s and women’s divisions will go head to head for International Cup glory.

The women’s grand final will be played at Punt Road Oval and the men’s grand final will be the curtain-raiser to the Round 22 AFL match between Hawthorn and the Geelong Cats at the MCG.

The men’s fixture is divided into three pools. Each team will play three pool matches and will then be ranked from one to 18. 

Teams will then be split into three groups for finals; top four, Division One and Division Two.

2014 International Cup Fixture

Saturday 9th August

Official Launch - Federation Square

Parade of Nations - MCG

Sunday 10th August

Round 1 Matches - Royal Park

Wednesday 13th August

Round 2 Matches - Royal Park

Saturday 16th August

Round 3 Matches - Community Round

Tuesday 19th August

Round Finals & Division matches – Royal Park

Friday 22nd August

Third place play off & Division matches – Royal Park

Saturday 23rd August

Women’s Grand Final – Punt Road Oval, Richmond

Men’s Grand Final – MCG

AFL Head of Development Grant Williams said the International Cup celebrates the passion those outside of Australia have for the game.

“There are 100,000 international participants throughout the world who share our love of Australian football,” he said.

“IC14 will bring together the best 900 players from 18 countries. I look forward to the colour and excitement that the carnival will bring.”

Expatriate Australians are ineligible to play in the International Cup. Teams are comprised solely of amateurs who must be nationals of the country they represent. 

All players must have lived the majority of the years aged between 10 and 16 as a citizen of their nation.

The International Cup is played every three years. Previous International Cup winners are; Ireland (2002 & 2011), New Zealand (2005) and Papua New Guinea (2008).

For more information on the International Cup, click here

Comment on this story

* - required field



No comments
Year of Birth
This is Our Game
2017 AFL International Cup