Ladies Tuned into Coaching Pathway

You would be hard pressed to believe there are currently only five female Level 2 accredited coaches in Australia given there was recently 18 applicants for the AFL’s 2010 Female Coach Level 2 Accreditation Scholarship.  In the end the States and Territories decided the quality of applicants was so good that they would help kick in extra funding over and above the AFL’s to support their keen female coaches.  Full scholarships were awarded to encourage female coaches to gain Level 2 accreditation and assist with the costs of attending the National Coach Conference in 2011.

One NSW recipient, Krissie Steen, was typical of applicants saying, “I have my sights on becoming a Level 3 coach with the desire to coach a women’s team from NSW in a national competition.”

Game Development in ACT decided to assist 2 ladies to attend the National Conference as they were such good applicants. Kendelle Treloar believes she can become a better coach with further training and knowledge. “I feel my aspirations as a coach are closely linked with developing my skills and learning the most current coaching techniques and strategies,” she said.

The Western Australia Football Commission awarded four Scholarships above the 2 funded by the AFL making a total of 6 coaches receiving assistance. Newly appointed Development Officer for West Perth, Meagan O’Mara, has been coaching a variety of age groups for a number of years and commented that “doing a Level 2 accreditation would see me rubbing shoulders with the most experienced coaches in the state offering me the opportunity to learn from both them and the presenters.”



Level 2 & National Coaching Conference

Level 2 Only

Current Coaching Position


Sarah McFarlane

Assistant coach ACT Women’s team, youth girls development squad


Kendelle Treloar

Youth Girls


Lisa Roper

Women’s League, youth girls


Krissie Steen

Women's League

Meagan Simpson

Development Officer, youth (both genders), primary school (both genders)


Will award scholarship in October 2010


Shannon McFerran

State 16s Schoolgirls, youth girls


Keltie Blake

Youth Girls


Deanne Coates

Women’s League Division 2, Talent Academy


Tiff Harken

U21s, Talent Academy


Julie Nicholls

Women’s League Division 1, , Talent Academy, District youth girls


Meagan O'Mara

U21s, Women’s League Division 1

Melissa Cook

Talent Academy, Women’s League Division 1

Sarah Mitchell

Women’s League Division 1


For more information on the AFL’s Female Coach Scholarship Scheme contact Jan Cooper (AFL Manager: Female Football Development) at or (08) 9287 5523.

No comments

Comment on this story

* - required field