Des Seaton (right) accepts his award from Phil Murton (General Manager - Football Operations, Eastern FL)

Eastern Region Awards

Monday, October 22, 2012

The Eastern Region Coaches Association (ERCA) held its 21st Annual Coach of the Year Awards night for 2012 on Monday 8 October at The Knox Club in Wantirna South.

The Awards night recognised the vital and unique contribution coaches across all age groups make to the game of Australian Football in the Eastern Region of Victoria which includes communities around the Eastern metropolitan suburbs of Melbourne and surrounding country areas.

It was an enormous pleasure to have special guests and football royalty with father – son combination Paul and Peter Hudson as guest speakers.

The Coach of the Year Awards recognise coaches across the major categories including; NAB AFL Auskick, Junior, Youth and Senior. The Association also recognised females through the Female Coach of the Year category and in a first for the association we recognised Des Seaton as the inaugural Umpire Coach of the Year. We also had the ‘Contribution to Grass Roots Football’ Awards which aims to recognise contributions to football that cross categories, age demographics and communities. These awards are one of the many highlights of the evening and are held in equal esteem as the coaching awards.

The winners of the awards in their respective categories were as follows:




Tim Beare

Ferntree Gully Eagles


Bronwyn Briant

Bayswater Auskick


David Beary

Knox Gardens Auskick


John McKeown

Seville JFC


Sean Kavanagh

Scoresby JFC


The winners of the Contribution to Grass Roots Football awards were as follows:




Jared Dight

Mt Evelyn JFC


Darren Wilde

Healesville JFC


This year for the first time in the history of the Eastern Region Coaches Association an Umpire Coach of the Year was recognised, the winner was Des Seaton of the Eastern FL (EFL).




Des Seaton

Eastern FL

Umpire Coach

EFL head of Umpiring Michael Vozzo was thrilled for Seaton.

‘Des has been an integral part of the EFL umpires coaching staff for many years,’ Vozzo said.

‘He coordinates and mentors around 80 boundary umpires, mostly young, and gets the best out of them week-in-week-out with his professional approach.

‘Considering the average age of the boundary umpires who officiated in this year’s Division 1 Grand Final was just 18, including our first ever female to officiate in a Division 1 Senior Grand Final, it is testament to Des’ ability to connect with young and aspiring people.’  

Congratulations also to Sean Kavanagh and David Beary for being selected as finalists of the Victoria Coach of the Year Awards to be held at the MCG on Friday 9 November.   

No comments

Comment on this story

* - required field