Flying Boomerangs visited PNG in 2009

Boomerangs Flying Beyond Sport

Thursday, November 17, 2011

The AFL's Flying Boomerangs program has been nominated for a prestigious Beyond Sport Award.

The program has been nominated in the Sport Federation or Governing Body of the Year category and was among 400 entries from more than 125 countries.

AFL Community Engagement Manager Jason Mifsud will attend the Beyond Sport Summit and Awards in Cape Town, South Africa from December 5-8.

"We are extremely proud of the Flying Boomerangs program. Our programs are about building greater access to our game and using the game to increase opportunities for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. We aim to support better sporting, health, leadership, education, employment and cultural enrichment outcomes for Indigenous people across Australia.

"To have our program recognised internationally is very rewarding," he said.

The Flying Boomerangs is a personal development and leadership program for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander young men who are 14 -15 years of age.

The program incorporates a match series against developing international countries (South Africa 2006 and 2008, PNG 2009 and Tonga 2010 and Fiji 2011).

Participants are selected from an annual camp that involves players from throughout Australia and are mentored by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander leaders and former Australian Football League players.

Other nominees in the Sport Federation or Governing Body of the Year category are; the International Table Tennis Federation and the National Hockey League Green program (USA and Canada).

The award will be judged by the Beyond Sport Panel of Ambassadors which is chaired by former British Prime Minister Tony Blair.

The panel includes the Beyond Sport official patron Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Olympic Gold medallists Michael Johnson, Michelle Ford and Sergey Bubka, Chairman and CEO, Special Olympics Timothy Shriver and Chairman of the 2012 London Olympics Lord Sebastian Coe.

The Beyond Sport Community Awards winners will receive funding and a package of substantial business support to enable them to move forward and become fully sustainable in the future.

There are 12 categories for the Beyond Sport Awards 2011 covering the entire sporting spectrum of health, social inclusion, corporate and social responsibility, and philanthropy.

These categories are split into three clear sections Beyond Sport Community Awards; Corporation and Federation Awards; and the Judges' Awards.

No comments

Comment on this story

* - required field