Nathan Elsworthy is a member of the 2011 AIS/AFL High Performance Umpiring Academy

AIS/AFL High Performance Umpiring Academy

Thursday, February 17, 2011

Nathan Elsworthy (NSW), Aaron Hall (QLD), Ben Lehner (TAS) and David Armstrong (NT) have been awarded a scholarship in the Australian Sports Commission’s (ASC) 2011 National Officiating Scholarship Program (NOSP).

These umpires, along with Curtis Deboy (SA), Dave O’Neill (WA) and Michael Curtis (VIC), make up the seven members of the AFL High Performance Umpiring Academy.   The ‘AFL High Performance’ officiating program aims to provide each umpire with the opportunity to develop as an umpire on and off the field. 

The program will again be overseen by Brett Allen, AFL Umpiring High Performance Manager.  Brett will coordinate all the key components of the program including mentoring by AFL umpires.

The NOSP aims to provide an avenue to assist in the development of officials and their mentors in a high performance officiating environment. The scholarship provides professional development opportunities in a range of areas, practical experience at a high performance level together with mentoring and coaching to improve officiating skills.

A critical component of the scholarship is attendance at the induction and satellite workshops hosted by the ASC. The induction workshop will be held on the Gold Coast in March.  The induction workshop follows the AFL Umpires Pre-Season Camp that was attended by all seven umpires in the AFL High Performance Umpiring Academy.

Induction Workshop
  • Thursday 3rd March – Sunday 6th March 2011
  • Surfers Paradise, QLD
  • Attendees – Nathan Elsworthy (NSW), Aaron Hall (QLD), Ben Lehner (TAS), David Armstrong (NT), Brett Allen (Mentor – VIC)
  • Involves information sessions on psychology, recovery, nutrition, vision, media and effective mentoring.
No comments

Comment on this story

* - required field



OPSM - book an eye test today