Nathan Elsworthy with Darryl Sinclair at the 2010 NAB AFL U18 Championships

New Wave

Thursday, April 12, 2012

The AFL High Performance Umpiring Academy is now in it's 4th year and previous academy members are beginning to to achieve their desired outcome of making it onto the AFL Umpiring list.  

Appointed to the AFL Umpiring Senior Squad
  • Nick Foot (2010 academy member) has been appointed to the AFL Umpiring senior squad.  In 2011, Nick travelled with the AIS/AFL academy to Europe after being named the 2010 All-Australian Umpire selected from the 2010 academy intake.  Nick has umpired the 2009, 2010 and 2011 Tasmanina State League Grand Finals.
Appointed to the AFL Umpiring Rookie Squad
  • Matthew Brown (2009 academy member)
  • Brett Kronk (2009 academy member)
  • Scott McPhee (2009 academy member)
  • Shaun Gleeson (2009 academy member)
  • Andrew Stephens (2010 academy member)
  • Nathan Elsworthy (2011 academy member)

The AFL High Performance Umpiring academy involves six field umpires in an ‘AFL High Performance’ officiating program aimed at giving each umpire the opportunity to develop as an umpire on and off the field. 

The program is overseen by Brett Allen, AFL Umpiring High Performance Manager.  The umpires participate in a range of activities including a ‘High Performance Mentoring Program’, personal development opportunities within the National Officiating Scholarship Program, involvement with the AFL Umpiring Department and activities incorporating the AIS/AFL football academy.

The academy provides an excellent opportunity for umpires to gain the critical knowledge and further develop skills in order to achieve their desired outcome of making it onto the AFL Umpiring list.  

No comments

Comment on this story

* - required field



OPSM - book an eye test today