West Australian Teachers Shine at Football Awards

Thursday, September 18, 2014

The Coles AFL School Ambassador of the Year Awards has become the pinnacle for passionate, innovated WA teachers since 2006, with seven category winners announced each year. Over 170 distinguished guests attended formal dinner function on Wednesday, July 30 at Patersons Stadium in Perth.

With illustrious guests including national program partner Coles in attendance, the night was a celebration for the teachers nominated for their outstanding work in growing the game of AFL in their respective schools.

With categories winners such as Outstanding Service Award and Outstanding Multicultural AFL Program to be announced, Western Australian Football Commission Education Manager, Sharon Wilson, was ecstatic with some of the nominations put forward for discussion.

“The AFLSA Program continues to strive for excellence within our respective schools across not only in WA but also nationally. The WAFC was most impressed with the candidates that were nominated and the category winners were an outstanding example of what we want our AFL School Ambassadors to achieve,” she said.

AFL School and Education Manager, Mark Riddiford, spoke candidly about the process of determining the winner and the criteria that was adhered to. Key pillars for a successful AFL School Ambassador include innovation of new programs, evidence of professional development with other staff members, while ensuring cross curricular programs are implemented.

In addition to this, evidence of inclusivity, building relationships with Junior or Senior communities while developing a strong working relationship with District or Regional staff was also paramount to being recognised of the higher honours.

A lively, interactive panel discussion included current West Coast Eagle, Brant Colledge and Fremantle Docker, Michael Apeness, current AFL Umpire, Dean Margetts and WA Women’s Female Football Ambassador and Melbourne FC player, Chelsea Randall.

In a light hearted discussion, the panellists took questions from the floor on an assortment of questions ranging from the future of Female Football, the delicacy of Umpiring in the modern age of the AFL and the local situation of the current WA AFL clubs.

WA 2014 Coles AFL School Ambassador of the Year Award Winners:
  • Outstanding Service Award - Jeremy Bruse, Cecil Andrews SHS
  • Outstanding Primary Coles AFL School Ambassador - Brigit Wall, North Mandurah Primary School
  • Outstanding Secondary Coles AFL School Ambassador – Adrian Correia, CBC Fremantle
  • Outstanding First Year Coles AFL School Ambassador - Sam Alexeeff, Newman SHS
  • Outstanding Indigenous AFL Program – Mike Cuneo, Marble Bar Remote Primary School
  • Outstanding Female AFL Program – Narelle Scott, Beeliar Primary School
  • Outstanding Multicultural AFL Program – Deb Fitzsimmons, Cyril Jackson Senior Campus
No comments

Comment on this story

* - required field