New Zealand

AFL New Zealand logoNew Zealanders have been playing Australian football for just as long as Aussies have. In 1882 there were 36 New Zealand clubs playing the sport. By 1901, they had 115 Australian football teams.

Today four leagues operate under the banner of AFL New Zealand:

  • Six clubs in Auckland
  • Four clubs in Wellington
  • Four clubs in Canterbury on the South Island
  • Three teams in the Waikato league, two hours south of Auckland

Football is played during summer to accommodate rugby and soccer schedules.

Next year (2013) will mark an historic development in New Zealand's Australian football history when two AFL clubs -- the Sydney Swans and St Kilda --  play a match for Premiership points on Anzac Day in Wellington.

NZAFL Senior Leagues/Clubs

Auckland AFL

Wellington AFL

Canterbury AFL

Waikato AFL

LUniversity Blues

Eastern Bulldogs

Eastern Blues

Hamilton Tuis

Mt Roskill Saints

Wellington Saints

University Cougars

Hamilton Mavericks

North Shore Tigers

North City Demons

Christchurch Bulldogs

Hamilton Red Backs

Waitakere Magpies

Hutt Valley Eagles

Mid  Ashburton Eagles

Takapuna Eagles

Manurewa Raiders

Visit AFLNZ website

New Zealand Hawks at IC11

Placing: 3

Ranked number two, the Hawks returned to IC11 as strong favourites and were looking for their second title after winning in 2005 and finishing runners-up in 2008. 

Despite convincing wins over Britain and Canada, the Hawks fell short in the preliminary final, losing in a bruising battle against Ireland.

However, the Hawks did come in first as having the favourite guernsey among IC11 fans.

NZ during IC11Match Reports

News Stories