France AFL logoAustralian Football was played in France for the first time during the First World War.

After a few attempts to develop the game in the 1990s, several Australian and French enthusiasts created clubs in Paris and Strasbourg in 2004.

Since then, five other clubs have been formed in the south of the country, some of which have established relationships with AFL Premiership clubs (Hawthorn and Fremantle).

Currently, France has seven teams divided into two leagues:

  • North: Paris / Strasbourg / Bordeaux
  • South: Toulouse / Marseille / Languedoc Roussillon (Montpellier - Perpignan)

Champions: Paris Cockerels (2009 and 2010)

Since its inception the majority of players and administrators have been French people, most of whom have never been to Australia. The level of participation from local players has grown consistently over the years, particularly in the south of France.

The country also hosts two national tournaments:

French Cup: One day tournament with all French teams


  • Toulouse Hawks (2010)
  • Paris Cockerels (2008 and 2009)

Mediterranean or South Cup: All Southern French teams
(Clubs from other nations such as Spain and Italy have played in this tournament)

Champions: Toulouse Hawks (2009 and 2010)

Le Football Australien website

France Les Coqs at IC11

France Les Coqs IC11 GuernseyPlacing: 14

2011 was France's debut at the International Cup, but this did not mean they wouldn’t be competitive.

Despite being seeded last, the French team ploughed their way through second division to meet Fiji in the Grand Final.

Although Les Coqs ultimately lost the second division title, their fun off-field antics won them accolades as the hit team of the tournament.

France Les Coqs at IC11

Match Reports
News Stories