The Australian Rules Football League of Ireland (ARFLI LogoARFLI) was founded  in November 2000 after the Belfast Redbacks and the Dublin Demons contested  a best-of-three Grand Final.

In the first properly competitive season the Midland Tigers beat the Leeside Lions in the nine-a-side Grand Final and the Dublin Demons beat the Leeside Lions in the premiership Grand Final.

Later that same year Ireland won all five of their games at the Atlantic Alliance Cup, including the Grand Final win over Denmark.

There are currently seven teams in Ireland:

ARFLI Website

Ireland Warriors at IC11

Placing: 1

The Irish, winners of the inaugural International Cup in 2002, were looking to reclaim their title in 2011.

As the unbeaten side at IC11, they did exactly that in one of the most thrilling Grand Finals in International Cup history.

After trailing Papua New Guinea by 28 points midway through the game, the Warriors found form in the last quarter and sped away with a three-goal victory.

Irish Warriors celebrate IC11 GF win

Match Reports
News Stories




Ireland Banshees at IC11

Ireland Banshees GuernseyPlacing: 1

The Ireland Banshees came to the women's 2011 International Cup as hot favourites, and their performance showed why. 

The Banshees finished with a massive percentage of over 980 after thumping every team that stood in their way and convincingly staking their claim as IC11 Women’s inaugural champions.

Ireland Banshees at IC11Match Reports