Western Australia Indigenous players celebrating their win at the National Kickstart Championships in Coffs Harbour earlier this year

2014 Flying Boomerangs Squad

Tuesday, June 24, 2014

The AFL is pleased to announce the 2014 Flying Boomerangs squad which will compete at the NAB AFL Under 16 Championships in July on the Gold Coast.

Coached by Eugene Warrior, former Port Adelaide and Norwood (SANFL) player, The Flying Boomerangs squad will participate in Division Three and will take on the World Team, WA North-West and the South Pacific. 

The Flying Boomerangs is a personal development and leadership program for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander young men aged 14 -15 years-old, supported by the Coles AFL Indigenous Program. 

Selected by AFL Talent Managers following the 2014 National KickStart Under-15 Championships held in Coffs Harbour, the squad of 25 young Indigenous men has been chosen based on school attendance, leadership skills and football ability.

Jason Mifsud, AFL Head of Diversity, said the Flying Boomerangs program is a great opportunity for the best rising Indigenous players in the nation to develop on and off the field.

“The Flying Boomerangs will be exposed to the best training, coaching and mentoring, as well as personal development opportunities during the NAB AFL Under 16 Championships (July 3-13).”

“The Boomerangs is more than a football program. It is preparing our next generation of young Indigenous leaders with the skills, qualities and experiences to become positive role models in their own families and communities.    

“While on the Gold Coast the squad will be engaged in education programs including a visit to the Gold Coast Suns Football Club, training at Goodlife Health Club which is a support partner of the AFL Diversity program, as well as a visit to Coles to Southport store to learn about career opportunities and pathways.”

2014 Flying Boomerangs squad:

Tyrell Hocking (Sailsbury, SA), Xavier Cubillo (Darwin, NT), Cameron Wild (Ceduna, SA), Nathan Kruger (Victor Harbour, SA), Adam Nichaloff (Alice Springs, NT), Jeffrey McDonald (Burunga, NT), Rodney Baird (Palmerston, NT), Dominic Grant (Darwin, NT),  Leslie Maroney (Darwin, NT), Tyrone Hayes (Lakes Entrance, VIC), Aiden Domic (Mt Clear, VIC), Joel Garner (Gruyere, VIC), Jamaine Morgan (Croyden, VIC), Tyran Mansell (Launceston, TAS), Liam Lupton (Canberra, ACT), Tere Yarran (Huntingdale, WA), Harley Stack (Ballajura, WA), Billy Johns (Koondoola, WA), Kris Ryder (Beldon, WA), Tyrees Miller (Quinns Rock, WA), Brendon Collard (Kalgoorlie, WA), Gregory Humphries (Bunbury, WA), Kyron Hayden (Koondoola, WA), Bowe Roads (South Perth, WA), Sachem Parkin-Owens (Stradbroke Island, QLD)

NAB AFL Under 16 Championships Flying Boomerangs schedule:

Sunday July 6

WA NW v Boomerangs at Broadbeach, 3.40pm

Wednesday July 9

World Team v Boomerangs at Broadbeach, 11am

Saturday July 12

Boomerangs v South Pacific at Metricon 2, 11.30am

Comment on this story

* - required field



No comments